Jannah Meaning, Astonishing Levels, Gates & 5 Quotes (with Images)

Islam defines heaven as Jannah جنة, the paradise which is described in the Quran as an eternal afterlife of peace and bliss. Where the faithful and righteous are rewarded and good people rest after leaving their earthly bodies.

Hence, it is believed that if one follows the rules set by Allah, and stays good throughout life, they go to heaven. Jannah has eight gates, through which Muslims can enter after their resurrection on Judgment Day.

Also, there are eight levels of heaven in Islam, and each level has a different core and construction with a different prophet residing in them.

Jannah Meaning

“Jannah” is described in The Quran as ‘gardens of pleasure’, but The word “Jannah” comes from an Arabic word that means “to cover or hide something.” Al Jannah, therefore, is a place that is unseen to us. Jannah is the final destination in the afterlife for good and faithful Muslims.

Levels of Jannah

As per Sahi and Bukhari, there are 100 levels of Jannah according to the hadith saying: “Jannah has one hundred levels and between each level is remoteness like the remoteness between the earth and the sky”.

But with the inclusion of several other trustable narrations, scholars Scholars suggest that there are mainly seven levels of heaven in Islam. Muslims believe that an individual will enjoy the blessings and benefits of any level of heaven depending upon their deeds in life.

Jannat Al Adan

This is the -Gardens of Eternity-. After repenting and facing punishments for all committed sins, a Muslim is given a place in this heaven.

“Allah has promised the believers, both men, and women, Gardens under which rivers flow, to stay there forever, and splendid homes in the Gardens of Eternity, and—above all—the pleasure of Allah. That is ˹truly˺ the ultimate triumph.” [Quran 9:72]

Jannat Al Firdous

Al Firdous is the highest level of Jannah, which refers to a place of vastness, a trellised garden with grapevines and other fruits and vegetables. It is the most prestigious level and is described as superior to all levels.

Jannat A Naim

Naeem means a prosperous and peaceful life, living in wealth, happiness, and blessings. Allah talks about Jannat An Naeem In Surah, Yunus, and says: “Surely those who believe and do good, their Lord will guide them ˹to Paradise˺ through their faith, rivers will flow under their feet in the Gardens of Bliss,”

Jannatul Mawa

The meaning of Mawa is “a place to take refuge; dwelling, home”. This level is also mentioned as the A place to take refuge, the abode for the martyred.

Surah An Najm says: “And verily he saw him yet another descent. By the lote-tree of the utmost periphery. Night unto which is the Garden of Adobe”

Darul Khuld

The fifth level of Jannah is called Dar ul Khuld. Khuld means being Eternal, immorality, eternity or everlasting. Here one lasts forever. The level is promised to those who follow their path with the utmost devotion without transgressing from their path.

This level of heaven compensates for the loss and hardship that one faces in the journey and brings the voyage to halt. In Surah al Furqan Allah Almighty says: “Say; is that better or the Dar ul Khuld (Garden of Immorality) which is promised unto those who ward off (evil)? It will be their recompense and voyage’s termination”

Dar El Maqaam

Dar ul Maqaam is the sixth level of Jannah according to scholars and it means “an essential place to stay”. It is a level of intrinsic nature. A land to dwell eternally, or a safe place to live. The Zikr of Dar ul Maqaam came in the Surah al Fatir: “Who, of His elegance, hath installed us in the grange of eternity where toil touched us not, nor can weariness affect us”

Dar es Salaam

The seventh level of Paradise is Dar es Salam. The home of peace and safety, where speech is free of all negative and evil talk, is open to those whom Allah wills to a straight path.

Surah al Yunus Allah SWT says: “Allah calls to the home of peace and guides whom He wills to a Straight Path”


Many scholars believe that there is the eighth level of heaven, called Illiyyun. It is a home for the perfect Mumins (believers). It is an abode of the Hafaza angels, who protect the souls. This is where people get the fruit for their righteous deeds

8 Gates of Jannah

There are 8 doors to Jannah, each of which allows access to a different type of person. It would be best for us to try to embody the type of person that would be allowed access

  1. Baab As-Salaat: For Muslims who are punctual and focused on prayer.
  2. Baab Al-Jihad: For those who took part in Jihad (died in defense of Islam).
  3. Baab As-Sadaqah: Jannah Doors opened to those who frequently gave to charity.
  4. Baab Ar-Rayyaan: For those who fasting (siyam).
  5. Baab Al-Hajj: For Muslims who participated in the Hajj (annual pilgrimage to Mecca)
  6. Baab Al-Kaazimeen Al-Ghaiz Wal Aafina Anin Naas: For those who controlled or withheld anger and practiced forgiving others.
  7. Baab Al-Iman: For those who had sincere faith.
  8. Baab Al-Dhikr: For those who showed zeal in remembering Allah.

Jannah Quotes

Ya Allah forgive our sins & grant us Jannah.

Ya Allah, forgive our sins & grant us Jannah.

Sabr isn’t easy, but the reward is Jannah.

Sabr isn’t easy, but the reward is Jannah.

Life is too short to chase anything other than Jannah.

Life is too short to chase anything other than Jannah.

May the highest level of Jannah be written for our parents.

May the highest level of Jannah be written for our parents.

In Jannah, we will never cry.

In Jannah, we will never cry.